Faculty at the Nashville VA Quality Scholars site are sought after for their breadth and depth of experience in quality improvement, implementation science, health services research, clinical epidemiology and outcomes research, health behavior, and clinical informatics. Our faculty strive to generate the evidence-basis for the content, processes and structures of clinical care, and designing and implementing transformational change across a wide variety of clinical specialties. There is integration and collaboration across other disciplines to advance population health.


Fellows come to our VAQS site because we individualize their learning plan to fit their needs and future goals and provide close mentorship and guidance for a successful journey.  Physician fellows complete the Vanderbilt MPH program as part of their curriculum, unless they already have such training, in which case we individualize more advanced training. Approximately half of our graduates pursue research based academic careers and half pursue either academic educator or quality leadership/administrative positions. We have an extensive list of faculty with whom fellows can and do work and draw on the outstanding faculty and resources of our VA affiliate, Vanderbilt University. The VA is geographically located within the university and connected to the Vanderbilt Medical Center providing for easy and quick communications and collaborations.


Our program is known for its robust research and quality improvement programs and close collaborations with Vanderbilt University and its vast array of resources.  We leverage resources within our VA, across the VA nationally, and those available through our academic affiliate (Vanderbilt), including the Institute for Medicine and Public Health, the Center for Health Services Research,  the Center for Clinical Quality and Implementation Research, the Center for Health Behavior and Health Education, the Department of Biomedical Informatics, the Vanderbilt Epidemiology Center, the Center for Surgical Quality and Outcomes Research, the Center for Quality Aging, the Schools of Management and Education, and the nationally recognized Precision Medicine Initiative and Population Health Initiative, among many others. 


In addition to nurse and physician fellows/scholars, our site is open to applicants from other clinical health professions.

Senior Faculty Scholars

Dittus, Robert Aug 16 copy 1
Ruth Kleinpell, new assistant dean for Clinical Scholarship at Nursing
sandra simmons

Robert Dittus, MD, MPH
Senior Physician Scholar

Ruth Kleinpell, PhD, RN, FAAN
Senior Nurse Scholar

Sandra Simmons, PhD, MA
Senior Psychologist Scholar

Learn more about Dr. Simmons

Faculty Scholars

Carol Callaway Lane
Sunil Kripalani
Michael E. Matheny, M.D., MPH, MS
Internal Medicine / Public Health
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

photo: Anne Rayner; VU

Carol Callaway-Lane, DNP, ACNP-BC

Sunil Kripalani, MD, MSc

Learn more about Dr. Kripalani

Michael Matheny, MD, MS, MPH

Christianne Roumie, MD, MPH

Current First Year Fellows

Clouse 7
Gretchen Edwards
6-11-2018  - Photos of Dr. Sarah Homann, MD, Instructor of Rheumatology & Immunology at VUMC.  (Vanderbilt University / Steve Green)
Caroline Lassen-Greene

Morgan Clouse, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC

Gretchen Edwards, MD

Sarah Homann, MD

Caroline Lassen-Greene, PhD

Current Second Year Fellows

2014 rising ACMs , Assitant Chiefs of Medicine in Alumni plaza
Jea Young Min

Jennifer Lewis, MD

             Robin Mickelson, PhD, RN

                   Jea Young Min, PharmD

Jennifer Robles
Lucy Spalluto

                                                               Jennifer Robles, MD

                                             Lucy Spalluto, MD



Rachel Apple, MD

Shawna Bellew, MD

Justin Liberman, MD

Caroline Presley, MD

Amelia Maiga, MD


Leanne Boehm, PhD, RN

Alvin Jeffery, MSN, RN-BC, CCRN, FNP-BC

JoEllen Wilson, MD


Thomas Spain, MD

Kathleene Wooldridge, MD


Kristy Kummerow, MD

Katherine Rizzone, MD

Deonni Stolldrof, RN, MCUR, PhD


Matthew Resnick, MD

Cecelia Theobald, MD

Lisa Marie Wands, BSN, MS, PhD


Alice Bernet, PMHNP-BC

Ashley Karpinos, MD

Rebecca Snyder, MD


Michael Bowen, MD, MPH

Candace McNaughton, MD, MPH

David Willens, MD


Carol Callaway-Lane, ACNP-BC

Wesley Self, MD


Philip Ciampa, MD

Jacob Hathaway, MD

Jennifer Kiser Green, MD


Neesha Choma, MD

Stephan Russ, MD


Gregg Munson

May Pini


Robert Huang, MD, MPH

Mary Margaret Huizinga, MD, MPH


Jeffrey Boord, MD, MPH

Jennifer Schuberth, MD, MPH


William Gregg, MD


Eric Grogan, MD

Christianne Roumie, MD, MPH


Richard Wall, MD


Shelley Ellis, MD


Denise Brown, MD

Asha Kallianpur, MD

Kathy Poehling, MD