Our Sites


Faculty at the Nashville VA Quality Scholars site are sought after for their breadth and depth of experience in quality improvement, implementation science, health services research, clinical epidemiology and outcomes research, health behavior, and clinical informatics. Our faculty strive to generate the evidence-basis for the content, processes and structures of clinical care, and designing and implementing transformational change across a wide variety of clinical specialties. There is integration and collaboration across other disciplines to advance population health.

Fellows come to our VAQS site because we individualize their learning plan to fit their needs and future goals and provide close mentorship and guidance for a successful journey.  Physician fellows complete the Vanderbilt MPH program as part of their curriculum, unless they already have such training, in which case we individualize more advanced training. Approximately half of our graduates pursue research based academic careers and half pursue either academic educator or quality leadership/administrative positions. We have an extensive list of faculty with whom fellows can and do work and draw on the outstanding faculty and resources of our VA affiliate, Vanderbilt University. The VA is geographically located within the university and connected to the Vanderbilt Medical Center providing for easy and quick communications and collaborations.

Our program is known for its robust research and quality improvement programs and close collaborations with Vanderbilt University and its vast array of resources.  We leverage resources within our VA, across the VA nationally, and those available through our academic affiliate (Vanderbilt), including the Institute for Medicine and Public Health, the Center for Health Services Research,  the Center for Clinical Quality and Implementation Research, the Center for Health Behavior and Health Education, the Department of Biomedical Informatics, the Vanderbilt Epidemiology Center, the Center for Surgical Quality and Outcomes Research, the Center for Quality Aging, the Schools of Management and Education, and the nationally recognized Precision Medicine Initiative and Population Health Initiative, among many others.

In addition to nurse and physician fellows/scholars, our site is open to applicants from other clinical health professions.

Senior Faculty Scholars

Robert Dittus, MD, MPH


Ruth Kleinpell, PhD, RN, FAAN


Sandra Simmons, PhD, MA


Senior Scholars

Carol Callaway-Lane, DNP, ACNP-BC

Sunil Kripalani, MD, MSc

Michael Matheny, MD, MS, MPH

Christianne Roumie, MD, MPH

Third Year Fellows

Morgan Clouse Johnson, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC

Caroline Lassen-Greene, PhD

Second Year Fellows

Wali Johnson, MD

Milner Staub, MD

Jennifer Wethman, PhD, MBA, RN, NE-BC

First Year Fellows

Laura Rausch, BS, MA, MD

McKenzie Roddy, PhD

Sarah Welch, DO, MA



Jennifer Lewis, MD

Robin Mickelson, PhD, RN

Jea Young Min, PharmD

Jennifer Robles, MD

Lucy Spalluto, MD


Rachel Apple, MD, MPH

Shawna Bellew, MD, MPH

Justin Liberman, MD, MPH

Caroline Presley, MD, MPH

Amelia Maiga, MD


Leanne Boehm, PhD, RN

Alvin Jeffery, MSN, RN-BC, CCRN, FNP-BC

JoEllen Wilson, MD, MPH


Thomas Spain, MD, MPH

Kathleene Wooldridge, MD, MPH


Kristy Kummerow, MD, MPH

Katherine Rizzone, MD, MPH

Deonni Stolldrof, RN, MCUR, PhD


Matthew Resnick, MD, MPH

Cecelia Theobald, MD, MPH

Lisa Marie Wands, BSN, MS, PhD


Alice Bernet, PMHNP-BC

Ashley Karpinos, MD, MPH

Rebecca Snyder, MD


Michael Bowen, MD, MPH

Candace McNaughton, MD, MPH

David Willens, MD, MPH


Carol Callaway-Lane, ACNP-BC

Wesley Self, MD, MPH


Philip Ciampa, MD, MPH

Jacob Hathaway, MD, MPH

Jennifer Kiser Green, MD, MPH


Neesha Choma, MD, MPH

Stephan Russ, MD, MPH


Gregg Munson, MD, MPH

May Pini, MD, MPH


Robert Huang, MD, MPH

Mary Margaret Huizinga, MD, MPH


Jeffrey Boord, MD, MPH

Jennifer Schuberth, MD, MPH


William Gregg, MD, MPH


Eric Grogan, MD, MPH

Christianne Roumie, MD, MPH


Richard Wall, MD, MPH


Shelley Ellis, MD, MPH


Denise Brown, MD

Asha Kallianpur, MD, MPH

Kathy Poehling, MD, MPH