Program Leadership

 

The Houston team has been coordinating the VAQS program since 2015.
The center coordinates the development, implementation, and evaluation of the program.

Director, VA Quality Scholars

Aanand Naik 2

Aanand Naik, MD

Director, VA Quality Scholars
Aanand.Naik@va.gov

(713) 794-8541

Associate Directors

Jane Anderson 3
Godwin, Kyler
Sylvia Hysong 4
Woodard 1

Jane Anderson, PhD, RN, FNP-BC

Associate Director for Nurse Scholars, VA Quality Scholars
Jane.Anderson@va.gov

(713) 794-8079

Kyler Godwin, PhD

Associate Director for Curriculum and Program Operations, VA Quality Scholars
Kyler.Godwin@va.gov

(713) 440-4672

Sylvia Hysong, PhD

Associate Director for Evaluation, VA Quality Scholars
Sylvia.Hysong@va.gov

(713) 440-4444

LeChauncy Woodard, MD, MPH

Associate Director for Physcian Scholars, VA Quality Scholars
Woodard.LeChauncy@va.gov

(713) 440-4441

Faculty

Molly
Diana Stewart

                                                 Molly Horstman, MD, MS

                                                  Curriculum Development

                                                 Molly.Horstman1@va.gov

            Diana Stewart, MD, MBA

                          Curriculum Development

                            Diana.Stewart@va.gov

Staff

73506_255

Joshua Conwell

Program Coordinator – Education

Joshua.Conwell@va.gov

Educational Leadership Fellows

IMG_7862
Srikar Mapakshi

               Srikar Mapakshi, MD

                          Srikar.Mapakshi@va.gov

Education Fellowship Alumni

2017 Alumni

Jen Bryan 3

Jennifer Bryan, PhD

2015-2017

Isabelle is my boss

 Isabelle Kusters, PhD, MPH

2016-2017

Isabelle Kusters, PhD, MPH, is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Clinical, Health, and Applied Sciences at the University of Houston Clear Lake, and a Health Policy Scholar at the Baylor College of Medicine Center for Medical Ethics & Health Policy.  Dr. Kusters’ current research focuses on health insurance coverage and access to cancer screening services for immigrant populations. She is also interested in the ways in which translation and interpretation services affect access to, and quality of, care for limited English proficient patients.  Dr. Kusters completed her postdoctoral research fellowship at the Department of Veterans Affairs’ Center for Innovations in Quality, Effectiveness, and Safety and at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas.   She earned her graduate degrees at the University of Texas School of Public Health, and an undergraduate diploma from the University of Texas at Austin. 

2016 Alumni

Jess Uriarte 3

Jessica Uriarte, DrPH, MPH

2015-2016